Would you rather face a dragon or the acromantula?

Harry Potter Moment of the Week is a feature started by Leah over at Uncorked Thoughts. The idea is to get Harry Potter fans together and discuss our favorite things about the series; be it a favorite moment, character, magical item, spell, quote or object from the books, films or J.K Rowling herself.

For this week We’re talking about facing either one of a dragon or an acromantula, so what would it be? Let’s discuss both before letting ourselves make a death wish.

Acromantula

480c89b96a26296dad76b8011b897a5a.jpg

Acromantula – Courtesy of Google Images.

An Acromantula is believed to be a wizard-bred species, designed to guard dwellings or treasure hoards, and were first created before the Ban on Experimental Breeding, 1965. In contrary to most non-magical spiders, Acromantulas are social animals, who live in large colonies consisting of hundred’s of their species. These colonies are led by the oldest male and female of said colonies, who are highly respected and met with absolute obedience.

So basically if I’m not liked by one I’m eaten by them all :O Well, I can think of less Gore-like ways to die.

Dragons

Dragon_PM_B4C19M1_TheFourDragons_Moment.jpg

Dragons are able to fly and breathe fire through their nostrils, they are one of the most dangerous and hardest to conceal creatures in the wizarding world. The Ministry of Magic classifies them as XXXXX, known wizard killers that are impossible to train or domesticate.

Dragon_WB_F4_TriwizardTournamentTaskOneDragon_Still_100615_Land.jpg

So I’d just freak out with the flying and fire but then there are razor sharp teeth and horns 😮

Dragon_WB_F4_WelshGreen_V1_Illust_100615_Land.jpg

Did I mention claws that could rip off my skin and shred me into pieces, literally?

Dragon_PM_B7C26M1_DragonInGringotts_Moment.jpg

Well, I guess I’d rather take my chances with a group of venom filled giant spiders than a fire-breathing flying dragon that would leave me no chance of escape whatsoever.

So what would be your pick?

success

Lives in the dark and travels to light
on his own, own its might

It wants it bad whatever it desires
it’s neither a keeper nor a liar

It always gets the best of the world
a racist against lazy and a friend to Wanderers

It got me hooked like every other human
so attractive no one can resist

Have mercy o li’l thing you’re ruining the earth
it answers me back that it’s the one
The only one

They call it
‘SUCCESS’

There she was…

Amidst all that was ordinary and common,
She lied there with her unusual imagination.

Flipping pages as her eyes glow;
Smiling like a toddler,
Dancing like a fountain,
Flying like a bird,
Floating like a leaf;

There she was,
breathing and living,
in solitude and sanctuary;

There, in all contentment,
There, Until they found her,
Ruined her,
Shattered her,
Made her undone.

And she Rose,
soared high, high above mountains,
brighter than the first light on the outside,
but inside, somehow darker than the darkest night.

When Breath Becomes Air – A Review

29779231

Title: When Breath Becomes Air

Author: Paul Kalanithi

Genre: Non-Fiction / Memoir

Pages: 200

Rating: ★★★★★

Short Review: A devastating read that breaks your heart, makes you cry but also helps you find your purpose in life.

swirl-line-17

Synopsis

‘Finishing this book and then forgetting about it is simply not an option… Unmissable’ New York Times

For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? 

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, the next he was a patient struggling to live.

When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a medical student asking what makes a virtuous and meaningful life into a neurosurgeon working in the core of human identity – the brain – and finally into a patient and a new father.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when life is catastrophically interrupted? What does it mean to have a child as your own life fades away?

Paul Kalanithi died while working on this profoundly moving book, yet his words live on as a guide to us all. When Breath Becomes Air is a life-affirming reflection on facing our mortality and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a gifted writer who became both.

swirl-line-17

Quoting When Breath Becomes Air

“You can’t ever reach perfection, but you can believe in an asymptote toward which you are ceaselessly striving.” 

“There is a moment, a cusp when the sum of gathered experience is worn down by the details of living. We are never so wise as when we live in this moment.” 

“What makes life meaningful enough to go on living?” 

“Death may be a one-time event but living with a terminal illness is a process.” 

swirl-line-17

My Review

I tried my best to be unbiased when reviewing this book but somehow the tragic incident with the author made it all the more beautiful. Don’t get me wrong, death is not beautiful but the fact that someone’s life, even when short-lived gave so much to this world is. That a person, despite the odds achieved part of his dream and became who he always aspired to be.

When breath becomes air is written by Paul himself as he discovers and fights cancer. A surgeon about to graduate is paused midway planning his entire life due to a disease and he pens it all down, his thoughts and relationships and most importantly his aspirations on the face of mortality. While reading this book, I realized how it’s never too late to follow your dreams, that no matter the odds there’s always a chance. I also look at death now as a motivator, only if we thought we don’t have time we’d fit it all in a day.

I grieve for his wife to have to part with the love of her life and his child who’d never get to know the talented surgeon, the brilliant writer, the devoted father but above all a beautiful human being. The way Paul wrote made me travel his journey with him, I sobbed with every x-ray and smiled on every tiny achievement,  I’m glad that during his last moments he was at peace, glad that he got to publish at least one book. Today we all remember him not for the accomplished surgeon that he was, but the beautiful writer that he remains.

I recommend everyone to read it, you won’t love it at all but I guess we all need a reality check every now and then, maybe this could be yours.May you find your calling.

swirl-line-17

Check it out on Goodreads!

Buy it from Book Depository for US$9.12

Everything Everything – A Review

18692431Title: Everything Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Genre: Fiction/ Contemporary Romance

Pages: 465

Rating: 3.5/5

Short Review: A thought-provoking romance of an allegedly sickly girl without an ending
Heart_divider

Synopsis

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Heart_divider

Quoting Everything Everything

“Maybe growing up means disappointing the people we love.” 

“Just because you can’t experience everything doesn’t mean you shouldn’t experience anything.” 

“You’re not living if you’re not regretting.” 

“My guilt is an ocean for me to drown in.” 

Heart_divider

Thoughts on the book

Everything Everything is written beautifully, Nicola Yoon adds doodles, emails, and drawings which enhance the reader’s involvement. The book size, font, and all physical details are so convenient and certainly added to my experience. Based on this book, I’d definitely read more from the author; a bit of philosophical mixed with a hint of reality.

The story is different than most books I’ve read, I liked the presence of a terminal illness and I wish there were more of it than just a little description. I also felt that she entered dangerous territory by presenting a sickness she didn’t know enough of or perhaps failed to research. Yikes!

The young romance was a good addition but I just couldn’t follow, seems too easy and too quick. For the girl’s part, it’s still understandable as she’s never been outside so she’ll fall for just anyone but what’s with the guy reciprocating it? I mean it doesn’t just happen over a day in real life and that is what bothered me. Up until the point where the ‘love’ happens, it’s going great but then I felt being dragged out of my thoughts and just read the words failing to ‘feel’ the story. The ending was also a bit sudden and abrupt, part of me liked it and part of me was like

Britney-confused_zps9eff516a.gif

But it doesn’t make the book all bad, what I liked the most was how beautifully the world was pictured, the beauty in daily life and interactions, the contentment of the protagonist despite her deprived life, the hope that was present throughout. The book had a sad and tragic theme to it but it doesn’t get melancholy, only sad enough to keep you hooked and want more but not enough to reflect on your mood.

The diversity is also impressive but the ending just took away a star from it. It was a good read overall and I recommend it despite its flaws but I wish no one with the actual desease as mentioned in the book does as Nicola implies how they’re not really living, I hate everytime a book or a movie shows an overweight protagonist; which happens ever so rarely btw, gets thin in the end and realizes how her life was yukh before. Its kind of similar in this book. Well that says enough.

Heart_divider

Find Everything Everything on Goodreads or order it on Book Depository

Soon to be a Movie, watch the trailer here!

Nicola Yoon | http://www.NicolaYoon.com

Twitter: NicolaYoon

Genre: Young Adult

Nicola Yoon grew up in Jamaica (the island) and Brooklyn (part of Long Island). She currently resides in Los Angeles, CA with her husband and daughter, both of whom she loves beyond all reason. Everything, Everything is her first novel.