Furthermore – A Review

86e76ec702620a726ae3c8d435a14a11.jpgTITLE
Furthermore

AUTHOR
Tahereh Mafi
Author of Shatter Me Series

GENRE
Supernatural / Fantasy

RATING ⭐⭐⭐

page-breakh.jpgQuotes from Furthermore

❤“It was so much easier to fight for another than it was to fight for oneself.”

❤“Oh, life had been a lonely one, but she knew how to pass the time.”

❤“Why must you look like the rest of us? Why do you have to be the one to change? Change the way we see. Don’t change the way you are.”

❤“Red was ruby, green was fluorescent, yellow was simply incandescent. Color was life. Color was everything. Color, you see, was the universal sign of magic.”

❤“She’d decided long ago that life was a long journey. She would be strong and she would be weak, and both would be okay.”

page-breakh.jpg

Synopsis

Once upon a time, a girl was born. It was rather uneventful.

There are only three things that matter to twelve-year-old Alice Alexis Queens Meadow: Mother, who wouldn’t miss her; magic and color, which seem to elude her; and Father, who always loved her. The day Father disappears from Ferenwood he takes nothing but a ruler with him. But it’s been almost three years since then, and Alice is determined to find him. She loves her father even more than she loves adventure, and she’s about to embark on one to find the other.

But bringing Father home is no small matter. In order to find him she’ll have to travel through the mythical, dangerous land of Furthermore, where down can be up, paper is alive, and left can be both right and very, very wrong. Her only companion is a boy named Oliver whose own magical ability is based in lies and deceit—and with a liar by her side in a land where nothing is as it seems, it will take all of Alice’s wits (and every limb she’s got) to find Father and return home to Ferenwood in one piece. On her quest to find Father, Alice must first find herself—and hold fast to the magic of love in the face of loss.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

page-breakh.jpg

Review

I picked Furthermore after the hype created on the Bookstagram community and also because the cover looked absolutely gorgeous. At first look it’s quite obvious how the book would be adventurous and colorful, and well indeed it is. download

Furthermore reminded me a lot about Alice’s Adventure in the Wonderland and one place even reminded me of ‘Inside Out‘ the movie. But nevertheless, it’s original and magical indeed. But I want to confess, I expected a little more. tumblr_m26w93li1t1qflapk

This was my first book by Tahereh and although I enjoyed driving my imagination wild, I kept looking for a story there. It’s a good pick for light reading and shifts you to a completely creative mood where you absolutely have no boundary and end to letting your mind wander off. Yes, I know it’s kind of cool an author can manage doing that but I wish there was a better story or a plot to it.

Till the end I awaited some turn or twist of events, I like happy endings but it came too easily. I felt like it could’ve been better if all the adventure and imagination lead to a great plot and a story.

In short, Furthermore is about Alice; a girl very different than her world and how she struggles for love and belonging. The story starts in Ferenwood and then we travel to Furthermore, where all the magic happens! The worlds are created imaginatively but lack characters, Alice is the only one we talk about the entire time and the rest are well just sidekicks you’ll know nothing about. I know my unfamous opinion would not matter but pick this book only if you’re in for some light reading. But for those of you with huge TBR piles (like mine,) I’m sure you can skip this one and live with it. But I know you wouldn’t —
tumblr_maat9mzcoz1rsy50k

While I declared Furthermore to be one directional, its anything but dull! so if you were to read it, you can surely anticipate a lot of colors and swirls in your head. Oh and maybe you’re wondering if there’s anything at all other than the wonderland, you are yet to find out —

  • Will Alice ever have any true friends?
  • How dangerous are these adventures of Furthermore?
  • Will Alice find father?
  • What magical worlds await little Alice and her friend?

Well Read Furthermore to experience it all!

page-breakh.jpg

Other Books By the Author
tumblr_static_1teuothkfdessco48ko00wcco

Shatter Me Series

page-breakh.jpg

Similar to Furthermore

img-thing.jpgBuy Furthermore Now!
(International)
Hardcover     Book $10.62 
Paperback     Book $6.82

(Pakistan)
Paperback Pkr.845/-

6 thoughts on “Furthermore – A Review

  1. I saw this and thought “My wife would love this book” so I turned my chair and shouted “Have you heard of Furthermore?”

    She just came back from the mall with it…. I guess I know her pretty well.

    Thanks for following, I look forward to reading more reviews here. It seems you have very similar taste (Furthermore aside) as my wife. If you like, you can check out her BookTube channel. =) She’s not massive or anything… yet!

    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCub321ElO8QkWjfqo28r7Cw

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kylian, you’re really sweet you know. 🙂 I’ll definitely check out her channel and I’m sure she’s really good 😉
      Also I was so excited for furthermore, I guess I expected too much and ruined it for my 😏. But thank you for the comment 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • Haha yeah that can happen. Emma (my lovely wife) has gone through a ton of books on her TBR because she couldn’t make it past 60 pages on any of them. On the bright side, at least the pile is shrinking… but can it ever shrink faster than it grows? Doubtful.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh well , I don’t think that pile will ever get any shorter. I keep adding like 10 books every month and read only 3-4 so yea.

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

