A Thousand Pieces of You – A Review

A Thousand Pieces of You TITLE
           A Thousand Pieces of You

AUTHOR

Claudia Gray
YA Author

GENRE

Sci-Fi & Romance

RATING ⭐⭐⭐

QUOTES FROM A Thousand Pieces of You

❤“I would love you in any shape, in any world, with any past. Never doubt that.”

❤“I fell in love with his unchanging soul.”

❤“We can’t begin to learn until we admit how much we don’t know.”

❤“I have no need for a world without you in it.”

❤“Every form of art is another way of seeing the world. Another perspective, another window.”

❤“My hate is stronger than the dimensions, stronger than memory, stronger than time. My hate is now the truest part of who I am.”

Review

The books in the Firebird Trilogy have no doubt the best covers and well, for me (like many) it was a mere cover buy. I took my own sweet time to finish it but I wouldn’t call it a waste of time at all.

A Thousand Pieces of You is an interested merge between Romance and Sci-Fi. Lucky for me, the Sci-Fi doesn’t go too technical in Book#1 and lays basic just like the romance part. I’m hoping the same in the rest of the trilogy but the book hints as I suspect, it might involve more tech and science.

In short it’s a story about a scientific device; Firebird, that allows travel through dimensions in this world. While it is a breakthrough in science, it may be used by some for more evil than good. While the scientists, unaware of their enemies schemes, develop the firebird flawlessly, Marguerite, daughter of the inventor of the device learns about her father’s death and follows the suspect through and beyond her own world. The suspect is none other than the person she was once closest too, while she is baffled with shock, her decisions must be made with precaution if she is to save her family from the inevitable.

You may expect a few smiles and giggles on your way and maybe a few tears as well, I liked the plot and the concept and eagerly waiting to read the second part, the writing however is mediocre and sometimes I felt the author tried too hard to build the chemistry between characters but failed. Nevertheless, the story is fascinating and would hook you up despite the average telling.

Does Marguerite travel in Dimensions?
Who kills her father?
Does Marguerite falls for her Father’s Killer?
What if the Firebird gets into the wrong hands?

Read the series to find out!

 Books from the series

Firebird
claudia-gray

#1  A Thousand Pieces of You (2014)
#2 Ten Thousand Skies Above You (2015)
#3  A Million Worlds With You (2016)

3 thoughts on “A Thousand Pieces of You – A Review

    • I will be reading the rest yes because I’ve heard it’s better than the first and also because I am curious about the story. I took away two stars for poor story and maybe character building but I want to give the author another chance.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Ten Things On Our Reading Wishlist | Naiha A. Mir's Blog

Leave a Reply

